NABEF Honors WCRX!
The College Radio Award goes to Columbia College Chicago’s WCRX/Chicago, for efforts including a food drive to benefit the Greater Chicago Food Depository and its Job Outlook ‘07 program.
The College Radio Award goes to Columbia College Chicago’s WCRX/Chicago, for efforts including a food drive to benefit the Greater Chicago Food Depository and its Job Outlook ‘07 program.
Competitive Program Aimed at New and Recent Engineering School Graduates
Washington, D.C. - The Federal Communications Commission (FCC) today announced that it is
seeking applications from engineering school graduates with superior academic credentials and an interest
in communications engineering for its 2008 Engineer-in-Training (EIT) Program. Through the program,
the FCC recruits new and recent engineering school graduates to the FCC and the field of
communications.
Recent engineering school graduates and candidates for graduation in the spring of 2008 are
invited to apply for several openings in the program’s 2008 class. All EIT Program participants will be
located at the FCC’s headquarters in Washington, D.C. or select FCC field offices. Candidates will
receive training at FCC headquarters or select FCC field offices. Applications must be received by April
10, 2008.
Interested applicants must respond to FCC Vacancy Announcement Number DEU-EIT-2008-
0001, available on the FCC’s website at http://www.fcc.gov/jobs/. All applications must include a coverletter, resume, writing sample,
official school transcript, and list of references; incomplete applications
will not be considered. A simple registration process through the Commission’s on-line recruitment tool,
FCCJobs, http://www.fcc.gov/jobs/, allows candidates to apply online via the Internet. Additional
information is available on the FCC’s EIT Program webpage at http://www.fcc.gov/EITprogram or bycontacting a Human Resources Office Representative at 202-418-0130 or
Recruit@fcc.gov.
Selection for participation in the Engineer-in-Training Program is expected to be highly
competitive. Selection criteria includes: academic achievement as demonstrated by class standing;
demonstrated technical competence (e.g., work experience, co-op, or class projects); writing skills; and
demonstrated interest in government service and/or the communications industry.
Engineers at the FCC work on cutting-edge issues in the communications and high-tech arenas,
including those affecting the deployment of next generation wireless systems, digital television and radio
transition, public safety and homeland security. They also promote the deployment of broadband
technologies, promote access to communications services for Americans with disabilities, and work to
protect the rights of consumers. The FCC’s work also involves interacting with other government
agencies, Congress, and the private sector to resolve complex policy issues.
Students at Chattanooga State come together to protest the sale of the college’s radio station.
WAWL-FM, or “91 Rock, The Wall” as it is known, will soon going off the air on FM radio.
Administrators say the sale allows them to update equipment and bring the college’s mass communications program into the future.
But the students are not taking the sale lying down.
Here are a few more links.
http://www.newschannel9.com/news/station_967506___article.html/radio_sale.html
http://timesfreepress.com/news/2008/mar/28/courter-clearing-air-regarding-wawls-sale/
http://wdef.com/news/chattanooga_state_students_protest_the_end_of_wawl_radio/03/2008
http://www.chattanoogan.com/articles/article_124219.asp
http://wdef.com/news/chattanooga_state_college_sells_radio_station/03/2008
One of the important items to note is that there is no “mandate” to convert to digital, so the stated reason for the sale is not accurate!
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The second annual Anchor versus WXIN basketball game did little to quench the long-time rivalry between the two largest media organizations on campus. If anything, the match only served to inspire a whole new level of competition.
The game, which was attended by more than 70 students and several alumni last Thursday night, March 20, on the center court at the Recreation Center, marked just the second time that WXIN Rhode Island College Radio and The Anchor have faced off in friendly competition in recent memory. The Anchor team, who in a narrow upset victory defeated WXIN 38-33 in a match last spring, took last week’s contest by a final score of 47-37.
KUTE, the U’s student-run radio station, got a break last night when the ASUU General Assembly unanimously passed a bill giving KUTE $4,500 in funding.
Joint Bill 14 will now go before the Associated Students of the University of Utah Senate on Thursday night. If the joint bill passes in the Senate, the money would allow the station to resume its online broadcast stream.
BENNINGTON — Eight years ago, a North Bennington resident, Robert Howe, purchased Bennington’s only local AM radio station to save it as a community outlet. Last day for proposals
Now, with the station’s local broadcasting in jeopardy once again, a group of community leaders, including Howe, is scheduled to present plans to preserve the station WBTN-AM to Southern Vermont College officials today, the last day the college is accepting proposals.
College trustees directed President Karen Gross to end the station’s losses by May 15 in early February, after the college reported it had lost about $450,000 since it was donated to the college by Howe in 2002. Howe, a college trustee, said he voted against the decision but understands why it happened.
“The college has other things it wants to do,” he said Wednesday. “(College officials) have to make these decisions. I was disappointed, but it was their prerogative, the college has priorities, and that’s okay.”
Howe said that in some ways the decision has been beneficial, as it has gotten the community behind the station. Since the decision, there have been a number of community petitions and letters in local newspapers urging the college to keep the station locally owned and run.
The group made up of town officials, organization directors and media owners and experts is determined to keep the station as a community voice, Howe said. He said he has been impressed with the group’s vision and organization and was confident it would come up with a solution.
“If these people have anything to say about it, it will happen, they’ll make it happen,” he said, “but I don’t know what the college will say.”
When news of the group was first reported, college spokesman David Scribner said it was one of many proposals, but he thought it was great that a local group had come forward. He said a lot of options are still on the table, including an outright purchase, a lease, co-ownership or a minority share for the college.
Although he did not know the specifics of the proposal, Howe said the bottom line is that it would keep the station locally run and operated. He feared an out-of-town buyer would simulcast broadcasting, like Vermont Public Radio did when it bought the AM and FM frequencies from Belva Keyworth, who started the station at the bottom of Harwood Hill in 1952.
Howe said when he bought the AM station from VPR in 2000, he never intended to get into the radio business, he just wanted to give it back to a community that had helped him start and develop Porta Brace, a company that makes cases for media equipment.
“It was a place wherepeople would be able to speak in their own voices to one another,” he said. “… It was to provide the forum for people to speak … to provide a microphone for the people of the Bennington and New York area … It is all about localism and human contact.”
Although he said it would be a challenge, Howe said he could see the addition of even more local programming in the future, including broadcasts of local high school and college sporting events if the group’s proposal is accepted.
In addition to Howe, the group consists of a number of directors of local organizations, including Joann Erenhouse of the Bennington Area Chamber of Commerce, Marshal Case of the American Chestnut Foundation, Lisa Byer of Catamount Access Television Corp., John Shannahan of the Better Bennington Corp. and Banner Publisher Edward Woods.
Other group members include Bennington Town Manager Stuart Hurd, Rep. Mary Morrissey, R-Bennington; North Bennington residents Robert Lowary and Michael Keane, Bennington resident Lindy Lynch and former Advocate publisher, Bill Densmore.
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Big D grew up on the streets and lived in a homeless shelter. Chip the Whip has been an Eagle Scout and he’s been in prison. And Tommy Boy worked at a Bay Area grocery store.
But that’s the past.
Today, Dan Wilson, Chip Hughlett and Tom Dempsey - who on radio are Big D, Chip the Whip and Tommy Boy - are working on the future. They’re among the San Joaquin Delta College broadcasting students being trained to use modern technology to produce films and television and radio shows.
In November the program launched DeltaCollegeRadio.com, which streams the college radio station, KSJC 89.5 FM. The station plays music from a variety of genres, and listeners from Oregon, Japan and Canada have sent letters praising its coverage of Delta sports.
DeltaCollegeRadio.com also includes a link to the broadcasting program Internet page, which can take visitors to student films on YouTube.com. In addition, the students produce newscasts and sports shows that are broadcast at 4:30 p.m. Thursdays on Comcast channel 26.
“My challenge is not only to get them ready for now, but five years from now,” said radio and television instructor Will Story, 49. “The goal is to take it where all media is going to go anyway - the Internet.”
Story’s students seem eager to learn the skills needed in that new-media world, and they reflect the diversity that Delta attracts as a community college. Some, such as Rod Villagomez, 32, of Stockton, have just started their careers and use the program to build their résumés.
“It’s an opportunity to get that reel together, to walk out those doors and make those contacts,” Villagomez said.
Other, older students feel the program offers a second chance at life, and they’ve embraced the opportunities Story offers.
“This is my way, somehow, of repaying society,” said Wilson, 47, of Lodi. He was working to earn an associate’s degree in management from Delta when other students suggested that his deep, rough voice would be perfect for radio.
Wilson now spins tracks from the ’60s-’80s on KSJC, and he appears in a short film in which he tries to best the world record for breaking plates over one’s head. He’s also working on a documentary with Hughlett that involves children at St. Mary’s Interfaith Dining Hall.
Hughlett, meanwhile, said he tells his Alcoholics Anonymous group that the program proves you can get a second chance. He hosts a KSJC program about rock music and pro wrestling, and he plays Top 40 music on the station.
Both Hughlett and Wilson describe taking part in the program has been a touching experience. Hughlett said getting up close with former President Bill Clinton while videotaping Clinton’s February appearance at University of the Pacific “was so emotional for me. I must’ve cried for 15 minutes.” Tears also came to Wilson’s eyes when he talked about Story’s efforts to build the program and the opportunity it’s offered him.
The broadcasting program itself is also getting a second chance. Story said it was strong when he was a Delta student in the ’70s.
He went on to become the director of multimedia programs at a community college in Colorado, where he said he bragged about the broadcasting education he received in Stockton.
“My dream job was to come back to Delta where it all started,” Story said.
That opportunity arrived last year, when Story was hired as the broadcasting instructor at Delta.
He was surprised to find that KSJC’s broadcasting license with the FCC lapsed in either 1999 or 2000, and the station had gone off the air.
Story worked long hours to revive and modernize the program. Now the results are evident. The progam has grown to 200 students from 80. The broadcasting offices were buzzing with activity Wednesday even though Delta was on spring break.
Some students were out on campus shooting scenes for a film. Others were inside editing a commercial for a Stockton car wash.
A student DJ, meanwhile, manned the boards for KSJC, which is on the air 24 hours each day. In addition to streaming on DeltaCollegeRadio.com, the station can be heard on radios on campus.
“We’ve come a long way in a short time,” Story said.
Ian Hill is the editor of 209Vibe, a local music and entertainment Web site and newspaper. Contact him at (209) 943-8571 or ihill@209Vibe.com.
Utah State University will soon have its very own student-run radio station via HD radio as an HD3 channel.
http://www.hardnewscafe.usu.edu/artlife/features/031808_radio.html
We will spend some time examining issues related to college radio in the coming posts.
1. Webcasting Fees and Recordkeeping/Reports of use.
For a background on these issues, see the links on the right. The current status report is that the bills introduced in Congress to address the fees have stalled. There are two other avenues being pursued to correct the fees. The first is the courts. Various parties, including CBI have filed an appeal of the fees set by the CRB in the Courts. The second avenue is a negotiated settlement.
Other than cap on the total minimum fees referenced in a previous post, which is inconsequential to college radio stations, no settlements have been announced. With respect to recordkeeping/reports of use, they are still required, even though no regulations have been announced that would require a due date for this data.
2. The “Performance Tax”. A bill, know as The Performance Rights Act, would require all FCC licensed non-commercial stations to pay an annual fee of $1,000 per year IN ADDITION TO the fees already paid to ASCAP, SESAC, BMI and SoundExchange for the use of recorded music on the station.
3. Localism and the FCC. The FCC has proposed new rules concerning every broadcast stations programming to insure diversity and localism. See the text of the proposal here. If implemented, this would require stations to have someone present in the studios during all hours of operation, even if automated. It would also require detailed reports concerning how music is selected, the music played, the formation of community advisory boards and weigh license renewal based on how well the station complied with the proposed(?) localism guidelines.
Each of these issues are extremely pertinent to stations at schools across the nation.
Future entries, coming soon(!), will discuss these issues in detail and suggest how you can respond to these proposals that will impact your station.
Note: This was written in mid 2007. Updates are coming.
In the past week, there has been press concerning settlements for webcasters. On Tuesday, select “small” webcasters received an email from SoundExchange with a settlement offer. Read the cover letter or the proposed settlement. Then on Thursday, it was announced that certain parties has reached a settlement concerning per station or per channel minimum fee.
Some may find the events of this past week surprising, but it was really very predictable.
The IREA house sponsors promised to push the legislation forward if progress wasn’t made by labor day. Other members of Congress have repeatedly pushed for the issues to be settled between the parties rather than through Congressional action. In order to avoid intervention and further examination, it is not hard to guess that SoundExchange wanted to demonstrate “progress” before the labor day holiday. Given the pending holiday, which many like to extend into the preceeding week, it is reasonable to assume that this past week was the target for SoundExchange to announce that progress had been made.
Has there really been progress??? Take a look at the first announcement this week in the form of the proposed settlement for small commercial webcasters (SCWs).
From the cover letter…
The attached rates and terms generally track those previously available under the prior agreement negotiated pursuant to the Small Webcaster Settlement Act (SWSA), which allow qualified entities to pay royalties based on a percentage of revenue (10% or 12%) or a percentage of expenses (7%) as
long as their total annual revenue (both direct and affiliated revenue) does not exceed $1.25
million. However, there are certain additional terms:
Many of the SCWs reject the revenue outright as the federal definition of a small business starts at a much higher level. They cite the following figures from the U. S. Small Business Administration Table of Small Business Size Standards
…
Subsector 515 – Broadcasting (except Internet) (annual average receipts in $MM)
515111 Radio Networks $6.5
515112 Radio Stations $6.5
515120 Television Broadcasting $13.0
515210 Cable and Other Subscription Programming $13.5Subsector 516 – Internet Publishing and Broadcasting
516110 Internet Publishing and Broadcasting 500 employees
- These rates and terms are available for eligible nonsubscription transmissions for
2006-10, thus effectively extending the rates and terms negotiated pursuant to SWSA for an
additional 5 years.
The problem here lies in the fact that the proposed settlement is nonprecidential (see proposed settlement). That means that the rates agreed to by the parties won’t be admissible as evidence in future rate setting proceedings, such as the one that led to the current situation or the previous situation when rates were set under a different rate setting process. In other words, this is a band-aid intended to offer short term fix to a flawed process. Without reform, the process repeat in 2010 and the results are likely to be just as flawed.
- These attached rates only apply toward each webcaster’s first 5,000,000 aggregate
tuning hours (“ATH”) of usage each month. For any usage in a single month above 5,000,000
ATH, the webcaster must pay the applicable commercial webcaster rates (currently $0.0011 per
performance during 2007.) By way of example, a service would need to have an approximate
average of 6,945 simultaneous listeners, each listening for thirty consecutive days, 24 hours a
day, in order to exceed 5,000,000 ATH of usage.
While these numbers may seem large to some, let’s dissect this a little. Advertising is generaly sold by audience size. This is expressed in the term, cost per thousand or CPM. First we will start by rounding up the average number of simultaneous listeners from 6,945 to 7,000. In order to reach the $1.25 million dollar cap under the ATH cap, a SCW would need to charge $20 per ad if the CPM is under $3 and a has a full inventory of seven ads per hour.
SoundExchange, on the other hand says that at a CPM of $20, webcasters can sell six ads per hour. Simple math shows that 6*1000*7*24*365= $367,920,000.
- If a webcaster’s total annual revenue exceeds $1.25 million, it is no longer
eligible for these offered rates and terms. After the conclusion of a six-month “grace period,”
during which time it may continue to pay under the offered rates and terms, the webcaster must
calculate any subsequent liability using the applicable commercial or noncommercial webcasting
rates, as defined in the Federal Register at 72 Fed. Reg. 24084 (May 1, 2007).
- Webcasters must provide census reporting to SoundExchange and be willing to
work with SoundExchange on implementing technology, developed at SoundExchange’s
expense, to track transmissions and provide the census reporting required under the agreement.
As with SWSA, a condition of this offer is that all parties affirm that this agreement is
non-precedential and does not reflect an agreement between willing buyers and willing sellers in
the marketplace. Rather, this agreement reflects the desires of certain members of Congress that
certain small commercial webcasters receive a below-market rate and as a compromise
motivated by the unique business, economic and political circumstances of small webcasters,
copyright owners, and performers. All parties agree that this agreement (including any rate
structure, fees, terms, conditions, or notice and recordkeeping requirements) may not be
introduced in any proceeding, including those related to the setting of rates and terms for the
licensing of sound recordings.
Please note that SoundExchange is making this offer only on behalf of its copyright
owner members and has no authority to make this offer on behalf of non-members of
SoundExchange. For transmissions of sound recordings owned by non-members of
SoundExchange, webcasters must comply with the rates and terms in the Final Determination of
the CRJs, published in the Federal Register at 72 Fed. Reg. 24084 (May 1, 2007).
SoundExchange is working, however, to implement an industry-wide resolution that would apply
rates and terms similar to the attached for all eligible small commercial webcasters and all sound
recording copyright owners. In the event that industry-wide regulations are adopted by the CRJs
(or other appropriate authority) with rates and terms substantially similar to those contained in
this agreement, this agreement will cease to operate and all parties will be governed by the
industry-wide regulations. Ultimately, an industry-wide resolution will be easier for all parties to
administer, so it is our hope that such a resolution can be obtained.
If you are interested in accepting these rates and terms offered on behalf of
SoundExchange’s members, please sign the attached election form and return the signed form to
SoundExchange by September 14, 2007.
Will Robedee is a veteran of college electronic media. Will has been a student volunteer, a professional consultant and a manager of student stations that have operated on cable TV, broadcast FM, unlicensed AM, webcast and other facilities. In addition to being a student volunteer, working for a grade, and earning paycheck, Will has volunteered his time to develop websites to aid student operated electronic media and volunteered to serve as a member of the board of CBI. Will has been the Vice Chair and Chair of CBI and is currently serving the board and organization as the immediate past chair. In these capacities, Will has authored or co-authored comments before the U.S. Congress, the FCC, the Copyright Office and presented testimony and represented CBI and its members before the Copyright Royalty Board.
This blog is part of Will’s continued effort to participate in the discussion of ideas pertinent to Educational Radio. While associated with CBI, this site does not necessarily represent the views of CBI, but it often coincides with those views and may incorporate some of their content.